Cycling

bike

It is hard to believe but I have never had a bike (except for a tricycle which I wasn’t even aloud to ride outside). Here I am, and at the age of almost 30, I finally bought a road bike and the gear that comes with it. This was all with a view to cycle on weekends and hence, to get fit. Despite all my ambitions, a trial ride was an absolute disaster – two falls, a bleeding knee and I thought I would never sit on that scary thing again.

Three months later, I have almost overcome my fear and now making plans to go for a ride this weekend. To get me motivated, I did some research and here are the facts about cycling outdoors:

• Increased cardiovascular fitness – this means that your heart, blood vessels and lungs all get a workout. You will breathe deeper, perspire and experience increased body temperature, which will improve your overall fitness level
• Increased muscle strength and flexibility – cycling uses all of the major muscle groups as you pedal. Cycling has been shown to get you fitter than walking, as it lifts your heart rate to a more beneficial level
• Improved joint mobility
• Decreased stress levels
• Improved posture and coordination
• Strengthened bones – it causes less strain and injuries than most other forms of exercise. It also increases stamina, strength and aerobic fitness
• Decreased body fat levels
• Prevention or management of disease
• Reduced anxiety and depression.

My favourite ones are: cycling makes me sleep more deeply, helps to beat illness, helps the environment and is an opportunity to spend quality time with my partner.

Leave a comment

