Quinoa and Lemon Pancakes

pancakes

I absolutely love pancakes! This is one of those dishes that reminds me of home and mom’s cooking. Almost every weekend, my mom would make pancakes for me and my sister even before we were awake. There was nothing better than the sweet aroma of mom’s cooking while we were still lazing in bed. She is a master at it and I always ask her to make it for me when I go back home. Last weekend, I thought of actually finding a way to make a healthier version of pancakes. This recipe was all I needed and even incorporated quinoa as a key ingredient.

Ingredients (makes 2-3 serves):
2 cups cooked quinoa
2 eggs
1/4 cup buckwheat flour
1 tbsp lemon rind
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 tbsp honey
coconut oil, to cook

Method:
Place all ingredients into a bowl and mix well. Place a pan on medium heat. When hot, add a teaspoon of coconut oil and shake it around so it coats the entire surface. Drop approximately a tablespoon of mixture onto the pan and cook for 1 min, before flipping and cooking the other side. Serve with maple syrup and berries.

One thought on “Quinoa and Lemon Pancakes

Leave a comment

