My Mom’s Best Crêpes

crepes 1

To me, the idea of making crêpes seems intimidating. Since I can remember, the standard set by my mom has always been extremely high. Accepting the fact that my mom’s crêpes cannot be replicated to the same standard, I decided to give it my first go. I like that certain foods can transport you to a different time and place… being thousand miles away from my family, sometimes I just want to feel a little closer.

Ingredients (serves 2):
2 tbs butter
1 1/2 cups milk
2 eggs
1 tbs sugar
salt to taste
1 cup flour

Method:
Melt the butter in a pot, add milk and bring to a warm temperature (do not boil), remove from the heat. Separately, beat the eggs, sugar and salt with a mixer in a bowl until it becomes fluffy. Add half of the milk mixture and half of the flour and continue beating. Add second half of the mixture and flour and beat until everything is mixed. Leave the batter to rest for 20 minutes. On a medium heat, bake crêpes on a crêpe pan flipping over once. Serve with maple syrup, honey or fruits of your choice.

crepes 2

Leave a comment

